Might I Suggest An Adopt-a-Voter Campaign?

I continue to be impressed with young women who, although they are not old enough to vote, are engaging in the political process in order to make sure their views and voices are heard.

I’ve got a suggestion for them to consider.

Young people, ages 18 to 29, make up 24% of the voting-eligible population, but way too few of them actually do. Maybe some of these activist 15-, 16-, and 17-year olds could each adopt a 20-something and engage in a little bit of one-on-one GOTV?

Emma Axelrod, Sammi Siegel and Elena Tsemberis, have you got time to tackle this one? Any other young activists looking for a great way to have an impact on the election even though you can’t vote? Just imagine the killer college application essays you’ll be able to write if you could tackle this one?

And hey, no reason that those of us who already vote can’t adopt someone as well. I’m going to try to figure out who I know that doesn’t vote and see if I can turn out one more vote for the team in November.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Might I Suggest An Adopt-a-Voter Campaign?

  1. Working a phone bank would be a really good option! It doesn’t necessarily get new people registered but it does make sure to encourage people who are registered to get out and vote. There also extrememly helpful with off year elections where voter turn out is extra, extra low.

    Another option is just showing up to events with a handful of voter registration forms. You can’t register people on the fly (I dont think) but you can pick some up from the library or post office, hand them out and tell people to drop them in the mail. I did that at one of the first Occupy Houston events I went to and they were gone super fast.

    • Thanks for stopping by – sorry to be so long in saying thanks!

      I phone-banked with the Obama campaign in 2008, and it was really enjoyable. I am one of those people who hates calling strangers, so I pretend to be someone else (in my mind – not actually to the people I’m talking to), someone fearless. I also force myself to smile when I talk and soon enough, I’m actually having fun and not forcing the smile.

Leave a Reply

