If I Can’t Put Words in Their Mouths, I’ll At Least Put Thoughts In Their Heads. I Hope.

I just transcribed Bill White’s responses to the two abortion-related questions from the February 8th debate. Their questions were driven, I believe, in part by the GOP primary proposition #5—should women be required to view a sonogram before having an abortion.

I did not transcribe Farouk Shami’s responses in their entirety because all I need to know is summed up in the fact that he believes women should have an absolute right to choose abortion for only 60 to 90 days. Since Shami supports greater restrictions on the right to choose abortion than currently exist, the nuances of his position are irrelevant to me.

To the first question, would you favor increasing or reducing current restrictions on abortion, Bill White answered:

I think we should leave the current laws the same. It’s important that we leave important life decisions to the citizens of this state, and that’s one. As you know, the Supreme Court has made the law in this area, and I think what’s really important is we do what we can in this state to cut the rate of teen pregnancies.

Debate 101: White answers the question, then switches gears to address a less controversial topic. Only when abortion is the topic can teen pregnancy be considered less controversial! He continues:

Right now, Texas is among the last in the nation–or, you could say the first–on the percentage of our teenagers who get pregnant. We need to do something about that.

White goes on to talk about programs that support teen mothers and the need to remove barriers to adoption. The moderator, still trying to get someone to actually say something politically risky, goes on to ask a second question. That is, he wants to get White on record about the sonogram bill so that can be a talking point once we see how the GOP primary prop comes out.

The legislature may reconsider a bill that failed in the last session requiring doctors and clinics to display ultrasound images of a woman’s fetus before she can have an abortion. Would you veto that if it crossed your desk?

To which Bill White answers:

In general, look, Dave, I’m not gonna tell you right now without consultation with the legislature what is or is not in a bill and what I will or will not veto. That’s not leadership. I have to work with the legislative branch of government. But I will tell you this, that I will work hard to make sure that our legislative sessions are not hijacked by the wedge issues which are not the things most prominent on the minds of Texans. Texans need jobs, they need job training, they need to get their moneys’ worth out of the tax dollars we send to Austin. They’re worried about how they’re gonna get from where they live to where they work in a state where traffic congestion is getting worse. And I do not think that leadership means getting diverted into the so-called hot button issues that divide Texans. We need to do more to unite the citizens of this state.

Well, there you go. Dave. Shami gives a mostly non-responsive answer to the same question, then Dave gives up and moves onto gay marriage.

I know that Bill White answered these questions carefully in an attempt to alienate the fewest number of undecided voters. I totally get that politicians have to campaign that way.

But I resent the suggestion that caring about abortion rights somehow sets me up in opposition to those who care about jobs or taxes or traffic.

I think leadership means answering tough questions. Here’s what I’d like just one candidate to say when asked about the ultrasound or sonogram requirement:

I’d veto that bill, Dave, and here’s why.

  • First, I don’t think we should legislate the techniques doctors should or should not follow during a medical procedure. Period. That isn’t the business of government.
  • Second, requiring an ultrasound adds cost to the procedure, and I believe government should be doing everything possible to reduce medical costs, not increase them.
  • Third, and most importantly, I trust and respect women. Showing a woman who has chosen to terminate a pregnancy an ultrasound serves no purpose other than trying to make her feel guilty or change her mind. That isn’t what government exists to do, and I won’t be a part of shaming women for making legal, personal choices about their health, bodies, families, and lives.
  • Fourth and finally, bills like this are an end-run around the right to legal abortion, and I do not support end-runs around the law. I would tell the legislature to stop wasting Texans’ time and money by attempting to subvert the constitution, and I would veto that bill.

I sometimes fear the only way I’m ever going to hear a candidate say something like this is if I run for office. And really, that seems pretty extreme, but don’t you think for a second I wouldn’t do it if things got bad enough. That’s a promise and a threat.

This entry was posted in feminists & feminism, politics, pro-choice activism, things there should be and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I Can’t Put Words in Their Mouths, I’ll At Least Put Thoughts In Their Heads. I Hope.

  1. Brittanie says:

    Not that you have to tell me, but did you vote Rep. or Dem? I voted Rep. for strategic purposes, which apparently backfired (damn you, 18%-stealing Debra Medina!). The reason I ask is because someone I know who voted Dem. told me those props weren’t on her ballot. Is this true?

    Also, I loved the whole “controlling gov’t growth” prop juxtaposed against the “tell drs how to do their jobs” prop. Dumbasses.

    • nonsequiteuse says:

      I voted D because I usually do, and because of some of the judicial races. While who you voted for is never recorded, the voting record does show whether you voted in D or R primaries.

      The propositions were only on the GOP ballot. The parties run their own ballots, so sometimes use the chance to road test what ideas resonate most strongly with their base. Conventional wisdom, however, says primaries draw only a sub-set of voters, and that the GOP primary in Texas tends to draw a larger number of farther-right voters. So, if the party uses proposition outcomes to shape their messaging, they risk further alienating moderates, which is why you’ll hear Bill White speaking so directly to GOP moderates, as he started to in his speech last night.

      You’ve hit the nail on the head (with the really big hammer) on the inherent paradox of a party that says it opposes big government, but actually advocates government so small it could fit in your, well, it is too early for the crass anatomical language I was going to use, so let’s just say bedroom.

Leave a Reply

