That’s How I (Rock &) Roll

Yesterday, I rocked out to KISS while cruising around on my errands.

This song always cracks me up.  I suspect that on This American Life, although I cannot remember for sure, I heard a story about a guy mistaking one lyric in this song as:

I want to rock and roll all night, and PART of every day.

You know.  Instead of PARTY every day.

I’m not laughing AT him, you understand.  At this stage in my life, I’d much rather rock and roll only part of every day, and generally just a small part, with some days totally off.

Clicking about on Miscellaneous Heathen, I learned there is (and of course there is) a term for these lyrical lulus –  a mondegreen.

I will have to ponder the other mondegreens I commit on a regular basis while singing at the top of my lungs in The Green Beast during my travels around town …

This entry was posted in grammar police, soundtrack for the revolution and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

