Grammar Police: My “Profession?”

My friend turned me on to a great resource – the “blog” of “unnecessary” quotation marks.  It does my heart good to know that so many people are fighting the good fight when it comes to punctuation.  I’m totally submitting what I found this morning.

I would like bring down shame upon the HR department at the American Lung Association for posting this in the AFP Houston job bank:

The American Lung Association seeks a seasoned “fundraising professional”. Responsible for all aspects of fundraising for its southern region and . . .

I hope they find someone who can raise some “money” so the “paychecks” the American Lung Association gives their “employees” don’t bounce.

And by the way, people, to paraphrase a wise grammarian I know – punctuation outside quotes in the UK, inside in the US!

This entry was posted in grammar police and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

