I’m In The Army Now

Update 1/27/11: Well, someone is at it again, this time with an alcohol reference that indicates your relationship status. Just got the first notice of it & am curious to see how quickly (or not) it spreads.

Update 10/5/10: This year’s senseless breast cancer meme has debuted. Folks, I don’t care where you keep your purse, or what color your bra is. I care that doctors investigating cures for breast cancer have access to enough subjects so their research can be successful and move us closer to a day when we can all survive.

I’m trying to start a Facebook meme that will create immediate positive momentum toward curing breast cancer. Please help!

  1. Read my explanation for why you should join The Army of Women.
  2. Join The Army of Women, or encourage women you know to do so.
  3. Change your FB status to “I’m in the Army now” AND provide a link to The Army of Women’s website.

The story behind the meme

Barbara Ehrenreich writes so eloquently about the freakish Cult of Pink that has swallowed any attempt to raise actual constructive ACTION on the breast cancer front that really, what more can I say?

Well, actually, here’s what more I can say.

I’m in the Army now. The Army of Women. And I hope that every woman I know will join me.

Fear not, my friends of the male persuasion. The Army of Women is not the militant arm of S.C.U.M.

The Army of Women, lead by the revolutionary and very highly-regarded Dr. Susan Love, has two goals:

  1. To recruit one million healthy women of every age and ethnicity, including breast cancer survivors and women at high-risk for the disease, to partner with breast cancer researchers and directly participate in the research that will eradicate breast cancer once and for all.
  2. To challenge the scientific community to expand its current focus to include breast cancer prevention research conducted on healthy women.

Joining the Army could not be easier, and does not lead to a mailbox full of pink be-ribboned spam. I think that I’ve averaged one email each month since I joined letting me know about breast cancer research trials for which I might qualify.

So far, I’ve only qualified for one. I’m taking part in the Health of Women study. It’s an online study enrolling women regardless of cancer status, age, or any other condition, in order to create a data goldmine for researchers. So far, I’ve spent a grand total of 20 minutes on the study, which seems like nothing when I consider that my health history might someday fuel a breakthrough insight into the causes or cures of various types of breast cancer.

The recent post your bra color on Facebook kerfuffle generated no end of blog postings. Women were berated for sexualizing the issue, trivializing the issue, ignoring other killer diseases, not taking breast cancer seriously enough, taking breast cancer too seriously by not being able to laugh at the flirty postings about bra color …

ENOUGH. We’re aware.

We need to move past awareness in a strategic, large-scale fashion, and The Army of Women provides the perfect opportunity to do so.

Please check it out, join, share the info with women you know, and update your FB status to show you’re in the army now.

This entry was posted in time for action and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m In The Army Now

  1. Now, this one seems like a breast cancer meme with thought behind it, and purpose. I do hope the recent “kerfuffle” over the bra color meme will not have a dampening effect on the willingness of Facebook users to participate. Brava for seeking to move beyond awareness to concrete action!

Leave a Reply

